History of the Singapore Society of Nephrology

The Society was inaugurated on 28 Nov 1972 when a group of nephrologists, led by Prof Khoo Oon Teik, came together with the purpose of organising a scientific meeting for nephrologists in the region. The meeting was held at the Brunel Hawes Lecture Theatre, Medical Unit II, in the Bowyer’s Block of the Singapore General Hospital. During the meeting, the first Executive Committee of the Singapore Society of Nephrology was elected.

President : Lim Cheng Hong
Vice-President : Beatrice TM Chen
Hon Secretary : Feng Pao Hsii
Hon Treasurer : Wong Nang Eong
Committee Members : Foong Weng Choong
R Sinniah
Auditor : Gary Tan

The Society then organised the regional meeting that was named the 1st Colloquium in Nephrology and this was held on 15 – 17 November 1974. This meeting was subsequently held once every two years and rotated amongst countries in South-East Asia and East Asia. It was renamed the Asian Colloquium in Nephrology during the fifth meeting in Manila in 1983.

Following the maiden venture of organising the first Colloquium, the Society went on to organise many other meetings including the 3rd Asian Pacific Congress in Nephrology in 1986, the 11th Asian Colloquium in 1996, the 7th Symposium in IgA Nephropathy in 1996 and the 3rd World Congress of Nephrology in 2005.

The members of the Society comprise of doctors, nurses and allied healthcare professionals in the field of nephrology and the Society promotes education through the organisation of many events. It holds annual Renal Updates for the family physicians, an Annual Scientific Meeting for its members and a Renal Registrars’ Review and Retreat for the nephrology residents in training. Critical care nephrology courses are also organised on a regular basis.

The Nursing Chapter was formed in 2005 and it organises an annual Renal Update and Peritoneal Dialysis meeting for its members. It also organises a State-of-the-Art Nephrology Course for nurses in the region once every two years.

The Society recognises the contributions of its members through two awards – the SSN Achievement Award and the Lim Cheng Hong Lectureship. The SSN Achievement Award was introduced in 2005 and is conferred on an individual or organisation that has made significant contributions to the profession and the community. The Lim Cheng Hong Lectureship was introduced in 2007 in recognition of Dr Lim’s many contributions in the field of Nephrology in Singapore and is awarded to an outstanding Nephrologist who has contributed in terms of leadership, development of clinical or research excellence in Singapore.

Presidents of the Singapore Society of Nephrology

1972 – 1987 Lim Cheng Hong
1988 – 1995 Woo Keng Thye
1996 – 2005 Evan Lee Jon Choon
2006 – present Lina Choong Hui Lin

Our logo

The logo of the Society was designed by Prof Evan Lee in 1987. It consists of two semicircles separated by a gap. The semicircles represent the kidneys and one is coloured red and the other white. The red and white colours have a dual meaning; they represent the national colours of Singapore and they also represent dialysis, with the red for blood and white for the dialysate. Together, the logo represents Nephrology in Singapore and acknowledges the role of dialysis in its founding.