SSN Annual Scientific Meeting


SSN Annual Scientific Meeting


The Society organised its 1st Scientific Meeting in 1988 and the meetings were held annually except when the Society organised the larger regional/international meetings such as the 11th Asian Colloquium (1996) and 3rd World Congress of Nephrology (2005). The meeting was renamed “Renal Update” in 1991 but in 2010, the Society decided to reserve the title of Renal Update for the annual update for family physicians. As such, the meeting in 2010 was named the 1st Annual Scientific Meeting of the Singapore Society of Nephrology.

In certain years, the Renal Updates were large meetings with invited foreign speakers, delegates from the neighbouring countries and trade exhibitions. The invited foreign speakers included Dr David Lee, Dr Zbylut Twardowski, Dr Alex Disney, Dr John Conger, Dr Peter Ratcliffe, Dr Richard Glassock and Prof Stanley Jordan.

Since 2010, the meeting has incorporated the Nephrology Advanced Specialty Trainees Meeting and the regular features of the meeting include the Lim Cheng Hong Lecture, the SSN Achievement Award, the Singapore Renal Registry Report and the Oral Presentation Competition for the nephrology trainees.

Themes and Foreign Speakers

2010 Anemia and Metabolic Bone Disease
Dr Paul Altmann, Dr Robert Guiberteau, A/Prof Kamyar Kalantar-Zadeh
2011 Lupus Nephritis
Prof Daniel Chan
2012 Radiology in Nephrology
Dr Antoine Schneider
2013 Acid-base and electrolyte Disorders
Prof Marc Goldstein
2014 CKD – Mineral Bone Metabolism
Prof Markus Ketteler
Prof Alastair Hutchison1
2015 Diabetic Nephropathy
Prof Thomas Coffman
2016 Paediatric Nephrology
Prof Bradley Warady
2017 Metabolic Diseases in Renal Medicine
Prof Jan T. Kielstein
Dr Csaba Kovesdy
Prof Merlin Thomas
2018 Glomerulonephritis Update
Prof Daniel Cattran

Winners of Best Oral Presentation

2010    Dr Christopher Leo (TTSH)
Determining patient factors influencing the switch from conservative to dialysis therapy

2011    Dr Sobhana Thangaraju (SGH)
An experiment using commonly used continuous replacement therapy machines in parallel with extracorporeal membrane oxygenation

2012    Dr Irene Mok (SGH)
Use of expanded criteria donors gives significantly poorer long term graft survival

2013    Dr Anne Ng (CGH)
Enhanced Solute Clearance with Micro Turbulent Flow in Hollow Fiber Dialyser using Standard Dialysis Equipment

2014    Dr Chan Gek Cher (NUH)
Novel Biomarkers of Kidney Injury Improve Prediction of Kidney Function Decline over Albuminuria

2015    Dr Tai Yinxia (TTSH)
Efficacy of open thrombectomy versus percutaneous thrombolysis for occluded arteriovenous fistulae

2016    Dr Liu Peiyun (SGH)
Infections in hospitalised lupus nephritis patients: characteristics, risk factors and outcomes

2017    Dr Low Sanmay (NUH)
In-Hospital Acute Kidney Injury and Mortality Prediction

Executive and Organising Committee with Ms Lim Yue-Li (centre) (Dr Lim Cheng Hong’s daughter) (2010)

Distinguished Judges (from left) Paul Atlmann, Kon Oi Lian, Tan Seng Hoe, Kalantar-Zadeh, Wong Kok Seng (2010)

2nd SSN Annual Scientific Meeting (2011)

9th Annual Scientific Meeting 2018

Date: 14 July 2018, Saturday
Time: 10:45 am – 5:15 pm
Venue: Level 2, Waterfront Ballroom, Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

8th Annual Scientific Meeting 2017

Date: 29 July 2017, Saturday
Time: 10.00 am – 5.00 pm
Venue: One Farrer Hotel and Spa, Ballroom 1